About us

panorama_smaller

Overview and history

Dr. Didier Nimal is the founder and CEO of OsseoMatrix. He knows by experience how difficult it is to repair bone losses that range from moderate to severe. He has worked in the medical industry for the Institut Pasteur and then for leading companies in the medical implants sector. He dedicates himself to developing a solution that would be less invasive and less painful for the patient than traditional treatments.

 

In 2009, he founded OsseoMatrix® and invented a direct 3D printing proprietary process for bioceramics. This breakthrough innovation was developed in collaboration with multidisciplinary research teams specialized in biology (CNRS), biomaterials (Ecole des Mines) and process engineering (CEA). It enables the manufacturing of third generation implants. These implants are patient-specific by using medical imaging of the patient, in order to perfectly fit the shape of the bone loss. Their composition is similar to bone mineral and their inner porosity is programmed to guide the bone healing process. They provide an alternative solution to bone graft and the required surgical procedure is minimally invasive. This new approach optimizes the cost and the effectiveness of the treatment of orthopedic and craniomaxillofacial segmental bone losses over 2 cm.

Vision and mission

Our vision

By using new technologies, the Internet, digital imaging and the revolution brought by 3D printing, OsseoMatrix offers an innovative solution to surgeons and patients. The amount of informations and the speed of Internet exchanges allow to easily transfer high definition medical imaging. Osseomatrix combines these data with computer-aided design technology to create patient-specific solutions adapted to the anatomy. This is a major milestone for bone loss treatment. By developing this process of synthetic bone 3D printing, OsseoMatrix positions itself as a precursor of a new generation of implants. The composition of these implants is very close to mineral bone and is perfectly adapted to bone loss treatment, as the designed porosity guides the bone healing process. The economic and medical stakes of this emerging technology are a less traumatic and more accurate surgical technique as well as an easier recovery for the patient.

Our research team and our partners – biologists, clinicians, engineers – are combining their efforts in tissue bioengineering to offer the most performant solutions for hard tissues loss, like bone and cartilage loss.

Our mission

The efforts of OsseoMatrix are focused on designing, manufacturing and selling synthetic bone implants. These implants have a composition that is very close to mineral bone, and are designed in collaboration with the surgeons by means of a 3D printing proprietary process. This technology replaces the harvesting of bone grafts on another anatomical place, thus halving the duration of the surgery, and reducing surgical risks of infection or haemorrhage as well as postoperative pain. The duration of the hospital stay is shortened, and the cost and effectiveness of the bone loss treatment are significantly optimized.

Management Board

DNimal

Dr Didier Nimal

Founder and current CEO of OsseoMatrix, Dr Didier Nimal holds a Doctorate in Dental Surgery (D.D.S.) and biology, and graduted from the MBA degree of the EM Lyon. From very early on, he worked on clinical treatment of bone loss. He held key positions for leading companies in the biology and medical implants sector (Pasteur, Nobelbiocare, Entific Medical Systems, Cochlear…).

DSC_0022d

Miriam Guenidez

As a CAD engineer , Miriam is responsible for the CAD process chain, upstream of the manufacturing process. She graduated from the École des Hautes Études d’Ingénieur (HEI – French for School of High Studies in Engineering) with a specialisation in biomechanics at Saginaw Valley State University (MI, USA).

MYRIAM

Myriam Garcia

Myriam is OsseoMatrix’s quality engineer. She runs the quality management system (SMQ). She makes sure that OsseoMatrix meets standards and regulatory requirements.

Values and commitments

chir150

OsseoMatrix is committed to bring innovative solutions for bone loss treatment. The expectations of surgeons and patients are at the heart of our concerns. This commitment for excellence has led us to develop a motivated and pluridisciplinary team that gathers outstanding talents and is always ready to listen to the needs of clinicians.

people150

Scientific board

GTaillandier

Georges Taillandier

Current chairman of the AFPR (French Association for Rapid Prototyping and Additive Manufacturing), Georges Taillandier was head of the prototyping department at Dassault Aviation. He is also the author of a book: Le prototypage rapide (Rapid Prototyping) published by Hermes editions. He brings OsseoMatrix his expertise as a technical advisor.

HERVEPETITE1

Dr Hervé Petite

As an expert in the field of bone tissue biology, Hervé Petite is currently head of the  CNRS/INSERM Biology Biomecanics service (B2OA) at the Université Paris VII, founding member of Sorbonne Paris Cité.

DHannouche

Pr Didier Hannouche

Didier Hannouche is an orthopaedic surgeon who works at the Lariboisière hospital, as well as a specialist of orthopaedic bone tissue repairing.

ABernard

Pr Alain Bernard

Alain Bernard, who graduated from the ENS Cachan, was head of the research department at the Ecole Centrale de Nantes. He is now a renowned CAD/CAM expert.

JMGaillard

Pr Jean-Marie Gaillard

As previous research manager of the Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Céramique Industrielle de Limoges (Industrial Ceramics School), Jean-Marie Gaillard is a ceramic processing expert and contributed to major developments in rapid prototyping of technical ceramics.

Qui sommes nous

panorama_smaller

Historique

Fondateur et PDG de la société OsseoMatrix, le Docteur Didier Nimal connait par expérience la difficulté de reconstruire des pertes osseuses modérées à sévères. Appelé à travailler dans l’industrie chez Pasteur puis pour des firmes leaders dans le domaine des implants médicaux, il concentre ses efforts dans le développement d’une solution moins mutilante et douloureuse pour le patient que les traitements traditionnels.

 

Il crée en 2009 la société OsseoMatrix® et invente un procédé propriétaire de 3D printing direct de céramique biologique. Cette innovation de rupture développée en collaboration avec des équipes de recherche pluridisciplinaires expertes dans le domaine de la biologie (CNRS), des biomatériaux (Ecole des Mines) et du génie des procédés (CEA), permet la fabrication d’implants de 3 ème génération. Ces implants sont réalisés sur mesure à partir du scanner des patients pour s’adapter parfaitement à l’anatomie des pertes osseuses. Leur composition est similaire à l’os minéral et leur porosité interne est programmée pour guider la cicatrisation osseuse. Alternative aux greffons osseux, les implants OsseoMatrix sont mis en place selon une procédure chirurgicale minimalement invasive. Cette nouvelle approche améliore la prise en charge médico-économique des pertes osseuses segmentaires de plus de 2 cm, d’origine cranio-maxillo-faciale ou orthopédique.

Vision et mission

Notre vision

A l’heure des développements internet, de l’imagerie numérique et de la révolution du 3D printing, OsseoMatrix apporte une solution originale qui potentialise ces technologies au service des chirurgiens et de leurs patients. La portée et la rapidité des échanges internet permettent de transmettre aisément des images de radiologie numérique de haute définition. A partir de ces données OsseoMatrix élabore en conception assistée par ordinateur des solutions individualisées adaptées à l’anatomie des patients. Il s’agit d’un tournant majeur dans la prise en charge des pertes osseuses. A l’origine du procédé de 3D printing direct d’os de synthèse, OsseoMatrix ouvre la voie d’une nouvelle génération d’implants de composition proche de l’os minéral, parfaitement adaptée à la perte osseuse et dont la porosité programmée guide la cicatrisation de l’os. Une chirurgie plus précise, moins traumatisante et des suites opératoires moins lourdes sont les enjeux médicaux et économiques de cette technologie en pleine expansion.

Notre équipe de recherche et nos partenaires biologistes, cliniciens, ingénieurs conjuguent leurs efforts dans la bio-ingénierie des tissus pour apporter les réponses les plus performantes dans les pertes de tissus durs os et cartilage.

Notre mission

OsseoMatrix concentre ses efforts dans la conception, la production et la commercialisation d’implants en os de synthèse. Fabriqués en collaboration avec les chirurgiens à partir d’un procédé de 3D printing propriétaire, ces implants ont une composition proche de l’os minéral. En évitant le prélèvement de greffons sur un autre site opératoire cette technologie réduit de moitié la durée de l’intervention et diminue le risque chirurgical infectieux et hémorragique ainsi que les douleurs post-opératoires. La durée du séjour hospitalier est raccourcie et la prise en charge médico-économique des pertes osseuses significativement améliorée.

Management

DNimal

Dr Didier Nimal

Fondateur d’OsseoMatrix et actuel PDG, le Dr Didier Nimal est Docteur en chirurgie dentaire, diplômé en biologie et MBA de l’EM Lyon. Il s’est impliqué très tôt dans la prise en charge clinique des pertes osseuses. Il a occupé des postes clefs dans l’industrie pour des sociétés leaders du secteur de la biologie et des implants médicaux (Pasteur, Nobelbiocare, Entific Medical Systems, Cochlear…)

DSC_0022d

Miriam Guenidez

Ingénieur en Conception Assistée par Ordinateur, Miriam est responsable de la chaîne numérique en amont de la fabrication. Elle est diplômée de l’École des Hautes Études d’Ingénieur (HEI) avec une spécialisation en biomécanique réalisée à Saginaw Valley State University (MI, USA).

MYRIAM

Myriam Garcia

Ingénieur qualité, Myriam intervient dans la gestion du système de management de la qualité (SMQ). Elle veille à l’application des normes et de la réglementation.

Valeurs et engagements

chir150

OsseoMatrix se mobilise pour apporter des solutions innovantes dans la prise en charge des pertes osseuses. Les attentes des chirurgiens et des patients sont au cœur de nos préoccupations. Cette recherche d’excellence nous conduit à développer une équipe pluridisciplinaire réunissant les meilleurs talents, motivée et à l’écoute des cliniciens.

people150

Conseil scientifique

GTaillandier

Georges Taillandier

Actuel président de l’Association Française de Prototypage Rapide (AFPR), Georges Taillandier a dirigé la filière prototypage chez Dassault Aviation. Il est l’auteur d’un ouvrage : « Le prototypage rapide » aux éditions Hermès. Il intervient en tant que conseiller technique.

HERVEPETITE1

Dr Hervé Petite

Expert dans le domaine de la biologie du tissu osseux, Hervé Petite dirige l’unité CNRS/INSERM Biologie Biomécanique Ostéo-Articulaire (B2OA) à l’université de Paris VII.

DHannouche

Pr Didier Hannouche

Chirurgien orthopédiste à l’hôpital Lariboisière, Didier Hannouche est spécialiste des grandes pertes de tissus osseux en orthopédie.

ABernard

Pr Alain Bernard

Précédemment Directeur de la recherche à l’Ecole Centrale de Nantes, diplômé de l’ENS Cachan, Alain Bernard est un expert renommé dans le domaine de la Conception Fabrication Assistée par Ordinateur.

JMGaillard

Pr Jean-Marie Gaillard

Précédemment Directeur de la recherche de l’Ecole de Céramique Industrielle de Limoges, Jean-Marie Gaillard est expert en procédés céramiques et a participé à des développements majeurs dans le prototypage rapide de céramiques techniques.